The finalists for the 2019 Nova Business Excellence Awards have been rolled out, as the Timmins Chamber of Commerce has announced the 45 game-changers of Timmins business who will strut and fret the monopoly board as finalists at the region’s biggest celebration of entrepreneurial achievement.

A record-breaking 165 nominations were submitted across 15 award categories for this year’s May 9 event, and were narrowed to three finalists per category by a panel of independent community judges. These finalists will be celebrated with a “NOVA-OPOLY – the Game of Business” theme to showcase the many ways these entrepreneurs are Timmins’ biggest players in the game, said Nancy Mageau, president of the Timmins Chamber of Commerce.

“This year’s slate of incredible nominees is yet another reminder that even though they may not own railroads or high-rise buildings on New York Avenue, Timmins’ business leaders are just as competitive and dedicated to building an empire in their own fields, and they deserve our recognition,” said Mageau.

“It’s clear from this list of finalists that our local entrepreneurs are truly making their mark on the board, which is why we’re looking forward to celebrating the best of Timmins business at the Nova Awards on May 9.”

Now in its 17th year, the annual awards gala is dedicated to Timmins business success stories, and highlights their positive impact on the region and its economy. As such, this annual celebration of business is a crucial one, said Mageau.

“Our businesses consistently work with each other and the community to help make Timmins a great place to work, live, and play. It’s why we’re honoured to have spent 17 years making sure their achievements are recognized and we look forward to more than 700 attendees joining us at the Nova Awards to help us celebrate this unforgettable evening.”

Tickets to the gala event will go on sale March 21 at $150 plus HST, or $120 plus HST for Chamber members, and tables of 10 are available. Ticket reservations can be made via email at info@timminschamber.on.ca

A photo gallery of finalists receiving their notifications is available at the Chamber’s Facebook page.

Business Excellence Awards Finalists

BMT Insurance & Financial Services Business Contribution to the Community Award (1-5 Employees)
O’Reilly Sports
The Barber Shop

The Venture Centre Business Contribution to the Community Award (6-10 Employees) Foster Jane Eatery
McIntyre Coffee Shop
Mendonca Law Office

NorthernTel Business Contribution to the Community Award (11+ Employees)
Dailey’s Your Independent Grocer
J.L. Richard’s & Associates Limited
Rehab Plus Rehabilitation & Fitness Centre

FNETB Best Place to Work Award
Cain Safety Fire Protection Inc.
Caron Equipment Inc.
Rainville Foot Health

Goldcorp Young Professional Award
Brianna Demers – Just Beecause Chocolates and Confections
Rachel Pessah – Bright Spot Therapy Services
Sylvie Lamothe – Rebel Soul Tribe

RBC Marketing Award
Compass Brewing
Ellery, Ellery, Guillemette & Prabucki
Family Eye Care

National Bank Innovation Award
DJB Mining Products & Services Ltd.
Mine Safety Solutions
Radical Gardens

Northern College Service Excellence Award
Majestic Professional Consulting
Steinberg & Mahn Ltd.
Viel Auto Body & Collision Inc.

Caisse Populaire Alliance New Business Award (Under 2 Years)
Borealis Fresh Farms
Starbucks Timmins

TD Bank Group Business of the Year Award
(1-5 Employees)
Little Bit Western
Porcupine Advance Printers
Smiles for Life Dental Hygiene Clinic

Scotiabank Business of the Year Award
(6-10 Employees)
360 Services Inc.
Northern Ontario Audiology Services
Vista Radio

Kidd Operations Business of the Year Award (11+ Employees)
De Beers Canada- Victor Mine
EACOM Timber Corporation
Soucie Salo Safety Inc.

De Beers Canada Indigenous Partnership Award
dB Hearing Inc.
Exsics Exploration Ltd.
Northern College

City of Timmins Non-Profit Organization Award
Centre Culturel La Ronde Inc.
Timmins Learning Centre
Timmins Snowmobile Club

OPG Lifetime Business Achievement Award
Pat Picard School of Dance
The Brick
Western Auto Sales

President’s Award
To be announced at the Nova Awards on May 9

Filed under: Local News